Friday, November 25, 2005

Eight countries are waiting in the wings to join the European Union.

Bulgaria and Romania have signed accession treaties and are set to join in 2007 or 2008.
Croatia and Turkey started accession talks on 3 October 2005. Turkey could complete them in 10 years, Croatia in five.
The other four Balkan countries have been told they can join the EU one day, if they meet the criteria. These include democracy, the rule of law, a market economy and adherence to the EU's goals of political and economic union.

Candidates for EU membership

No comments:


© Copyright 2006, European House Skopje. Blog developed by Zoran Dimitrov